BURUNDI Travel Guide

. 2 min read

BURUNDI Travel Guide

Burundi is a small country which is located in east Africa surrounded by Rwanda, Tanzania and Democratic republic of Congo. It is the tenth least developed country in the world and has 16 provinces with an area of about 28.000 square kilometres .Even though it’s a small country in Africa it has a lot of stunning nature places to visit


  • CHUTES DE LA KARERA:Chutes de la karera is the name given for a group of waterfalls in Burundi and one of the best place to tourist. And all these group of waterfalls are situated near a place called Rutana and the most beautiful waterfall is Nyaki. Nyaki is the shortest waterfall and Mwaro,Karera are the highest waterfalls
  • NATIONAL MUSEUM OF GITEGA:National museum of Gitega is the national museum of the country located in Gitega and was established in 1955 during Belgians colony. All the items in the museum are displayed in a single hall showing the Burundi ancient culture
  • RUVUBU NATIONAL PARK:It is the largest national park in Burundi which covers an area of 500 square kilometres and the park was found in 1980 for a home for most majestic and impressive wildlife like hippos, buffalo and crocodiles. The park also has wide varieties if rare plants, flowers and birds.
  • KIGWENA NATURAL FOREST :Kigwena natural forest is located in Rumonge with an area of 3000 hectares with number of baboons, monkeys and other species of animals


  • Burundi is a small country situated on a high plateau in east central Africa which is surrounded by Rwanda, Tanzania and Republic Congo with an total area of about 10,750 square miles
  • Bujumbura is the capital of the country and it is the most industrialized city which is located on the north shore of lake Tanganyika
  • Twa is the first known people who migrated to the country Burundi and there were minority groups namely Pygmy where current people known as Hutu, Tutsi moved into this place a several hundred years ago
  • There are two ethnic groups namely Hutu and Tutsi with incredible cultures coexisted for centuries with common languages, cultural elements but these two groups differ in their group identifications
  • The country is surrounded by Rwanda to north, Tanzania to east and south, lake Tanganyika to southwest and Republic Congo to west
  • Burundi is categorized traditionally into two types such as Hutu been farmers and Tutsi been Pastoralists
  • Rundi is the official language of the country and it is the standard communication throughout the country where Swahili the language of trade is widely spoken. Rundi language is spoken by both Hutu and Tutsi
  • Christianity is the main religion of Burundi with three fifth as Roman catholic and one eighth as Protestant
  • Gitega is the capital of the country and the two coffee processing plants are located in that city and it’s the second largest city
  • Burundian Franc is the currency of the country